Homemade Ice Cream Sandwiches

When I was little, my summer treat of choice was a Chipwich: vanilla ice cream sandwiched between two giant chocolate chip cookies. I loved this brand in particular because they understood the importance of using all available surface area to maximize yumminess and rolled the ice cream edges in mini chocolate chips. Brilliant.

I still love ice cream sandwiches and think they’re the perfect finish to a summer barbecue. I actually made these cookies last weekend, too, and Dave brought home a bag of mini chocolate chips from the grocery store. They worked well in the cookies, so I decided to use them again on Sunday, but this time I reserved some chipettes to roll onto the exposed edges to create the full Chipwich effect.

Results: Nostalgically delicious. Also, photographing ice cream in a hot apartment is tricky.

Leave a Reply

