At BarreWorks, Fitness (& Fun!) Is The Pointe

My friend Sara and I had plans to go for a run last night after work. On Sunday, though, she emailed me suggesting we switch things up: an exercise class at the newly opened BarreWorks on Queen West.

“Sign me up!” I replied. And then a couple hours later it me. I had no idea what the hell I had just agreed to.

The BarreWorks website says that dance experience isn’t required (phew!) and that the workouts combine fitness training, core conditioning, yoga and pilates. I liked the sound of that. I also liked the studio’s stunning website. So, I decided to give it a try.

I met Sara in the sleek reception area and got a tour of the gorgeous studio (it’s as modern and stylish as the website suggests). After changing into my workout gear (this isn’t a tutu kind of place) we grabbed our hand weights, mats and resistance bands and took our spots at the barre.

Paulina, our instructor, was welcoming and insanely fit. The room filled up and loud music spilled through the speakers, cuing the fun (er, killer workout) to begin.

I’m not sure that love aptly describes my feelings toward the experience, considering I was dripping in a gallon of sweat and could barely (barre-ly?) walk after an hour of squats, plies, push-ups, sit-ups, burpees, bicep curls and tricep extensions on the resistance band and double-time aerobic dance steps. I know, I know: this says more about my fitness levels than anything else.

But y’know what? I had fun doing it. I liked the challenge and the class’s combination of cardio, strengthening and stretching. And the best part? People were smiling, literally smiling, during one seriously intense workout.

And at the end of the day, that’s what it’s all about, right? Having fun while doing something awesome for your totally awesome bod.

2 thoughts on “At BarreWorks, Fitness (& Fun!) Is The Pointe

Leave a Reply

