RIP Nora Ephron

Yesterday, I was sad to read that filmmaker, director and writer Nora Ephron was dead at 71. According the Liz Smith article that appeared on wowOwow yesterday (in which the columnist seemingly eulogizes her friend, without explicitly confirming her death), it seems that Ephron was sick and that nobody knew.

It’s funny, I read the following Ephron quote a couple days before her death was confirmed: “Oh, how I regret not having worn a bikini for the entire year I was twenty-six. If anyone young is reading this, go, right this minute, put on a bikini, and don’t take it off until you’re thirty-four.” So, naturally, I slipped into my two-piece and cooked dinner, watered the plants and caught up on world events in my bikini, hoping this would spare me from having major life regrets in my golden years.

I don’t know much about filmmaking, but I know that I loved Ephron’s movies: Sleepless in Seattle. When Harry Met Sally. You’ve Got Mail. Julie and Julia. And I know that we’ve lost a female writer and director who made her mark in a male-dominated industry, armed with her unmatched wit, talent and smarts.

Here is my favorite clip from When Harry Met Sally: Sally’s faux orgasm at Katz’s delicatessen.

Leave a Reply

