Blueberry Pancakes

I made these pancakes from The Joy of Cooking for the first time in university for a guy that I was dating and, even after we broke up, he still raved about the fluffy flapjacks.

This morning I woke up craving something different than our usual weekend breakfast of scrambled eggs and toast, so I thought I’d introduce Dave to the joy of these homemade hotcakes. I spared some not-so-fresh blueberries a green bin fate and threw them into the batter for some added deliciousness.

The pancakes were a perfect way to ease into a holiday Monday and I’m happy to say that they had a similar effect on Dave as they did on that long-ago boyfriend.

The recipe is so ridiculously easy that it makes me wonder why I’ve been using the Aunt Jemima stuff all these years.

In a large bowl, mix:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 tablespoons sugar
1 3/4 tablespoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt 

In a separate bowl, mix:

1 1/2 cups milk
2 eggs
3 tablespoons melted butter

Mix the liquid ingredients quickly into the dry ingredients. Cook in frying pan or griddle, using 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake. 

Leave a Reply

