Gwyneth Paltrow’s Nicoise Salad

I love salads that have a lot of “junk” in them (as my mom would say) and when I saw the mouthwatering picture of Nicoice Salad in Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook, My Father’s Daughter, I knew I had to try it.

Once each ingredient is appropriately prepared, arrange a handful of greens on a large platter and top with roasted red and yellow peppers, Nicoise olives (we had to substitute with Kalamatas), cherry tomatoes, haricots verts (plain old green beans did the trick, too!), potatoes, hard boiled eggs and, finally, strips of grilled tuna. Drizzle spoonfuls of chive vinaigrette over salad, garnish with chives and enjoy.

The salad really was as scrumptious and satisfying as it looked in Gwyneth’s photo and I’ve found a new favourite dressing in the chive vinaigrette. The only downside is that, while you can prepare a lot of the ingredients on the grill, I had to use the stove to boil the eggs, beans and potatoes, which made our non-air condition kitchen a tad steamy in July. She has a Hot Nicoise Salad, as well, so I’ll have to try that one in the fall. Here’s the recipe for the cold version that I made if you want to try it yourself.

Oh, and since this was a team effort, I have to give huge props to grill-master Dave for searing and roasting to perfection!

2 thoughts on “Gwyneth Paltrow’s Nicoise Salad

Leave a Reply

