Top Five Reasons Why I Love Blogging

Y’know how Buddy the Elf says, “Smiling is my favourite”? Well, that’s how I feel about blogging. Here’s why.

5. It’s Guilt-Free: There are few indulgences that are easy on your arteries, your liver and your wallet. But blogging is 100% guilt-free. There are no artificial flavours or interest rates and you don’t have to worry about nursing a post-publishing hangover.

4. It Gets Me Out Of Bed: On the days that I want to publish a post, I get up at 6:00 a.m. and write before work. It’s a peaceful and fulfilling start to the day. Getting out of bed is a drag, but it always feels worth it once I’m sitting down in front of my laptop with a cup of milky coffee and a blank WordPress template on my screen.

3. It’s Creative: I love the process of publishing a new post. Coming up with ideas often means trying something new so that I can write about that experience or recipe. I see things differently now and find inspiration in something I might not have otherwise paid attention to. Sometimes, an entry comes easily, my fingers flashing across the keyboard at lightning speed, huffing and puffing to try and keep pace with my brain. Other times words and ideas flow like mud. That’s usually when I pour myself more coffee. But even those stubborn posts that I wrestle with to create are worth it because, while they might not be the best thing I’ve ever done, in the end I stuck with it and made something new.

2. It’s Nice To Share: I created my very first blog in the summer of 2007 and never told anybody about it. Ha! Funny, eh?! I felt shy about sharing my work and sending it out into the world, leaving it vulnerable toย bullies and snickers from the cool kids. It’s how I imagine parents must feel the first day they leave their child at daycare. I’m more comfortable with sharing my writing now and have accepted the fact that some people will hate it. And that this is OK. The fact that anyone aside from my mom and my husband occasionally reads this blog means so much. Every time I get more than two page views in a day, or someone favorites or comments on a post, or starts following my blog, or “Likes” my link on Facebook, I feel more inspired to keep writing and sharing, haters be damned.

1. It’s Good For The Heart: Blogging makes me happy. I started this blog because it’s easy to get wrapped up in the sucky parts of life (the crowded commute to work; cleaning the bathroom) or focusing on the things I don’t have (a personal masseuse; Jessica Alba’s wardrobe). Writing about what I love right now and expressing myself in this way helps me focus on the really wonderful parts of life, leaving less mental real estate for negative, disgruntled thoughts.

p.s. That’s a photo of me blogging. Full disclosure, though: I never wear lipstick while blogging in real life.

6 thoughts on “Top Five Reasons Why I Love Blogging

Leave a Reply

