For the Love of Great Books

“If you’re not reading a great book, you might as well be dead.”

I just invented that quote this morning and I wholeheartedly believe it. I feel out of sorts when I don’t have a book on the go. It’s similar to the way that I feel when I’m not getting enough exercise or Vitamin D.

I recently finished Tina Fey’s zany bio, Bossypants. The book is a riot. It’s also a quick read and therefore the perfect companion for your daily commute or an afternoon at the beach or a cottage weekend.

Once morning, I sat down next to a girl on the streetcar who looked to be in her twenties. As I slipped into the seat beside her, she burst into laughter. I did a quick body scan to confirm that I hadn’t accidentally left the house in my pajamas, then I looked down at the book she held in her lap and glanced at the slug line: Bossypants. Aha!

“Hey!” I said, “I’m reading that, too!” And I pulled out my copy as proof. We chatted about the book, its wacky, fearless author and other hilarious ladies, like Amy Poehler and Kristen Wiig. It was one of those funny coincidences that seem to happen more in novels than in real life.

Tomorrow, Dave and I leave for a 10-day cottage vacation. I picked up The Girls Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank and Freedom by Jonathan Franzen from a used book store the other day and am hoping that they’ll make for some excellent dock reading.

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Great Books

Leave a Reply

