Chocolate, Peanut Butter & Banana “Frozen Yogurt”

It’s no secret that I have a sweet tooth and ice cream is my #1 weakness. While I often daydream about subsisting entirely on a diet of frozen dairy mixed with chunks of peanut butter and chocolate or swirls of blueberry, I’m sure the reality would be a painful combo of unbearable stomach aches and about 200lbs of excess body fat.

The other day I was craving a cold treat and thought there must be a way to combine peanut butter and yogurt in some delicious, winning concoction that resembled ice cream. Google made my dreams come true with a search result for a healthy “frozen yogurt” made with natural peanut butter, Greek-style yogurt and frozen bananas. I added some cocoa to mine and garnished it with fresh raspberries. Divine!

Warning: The bananas aren’t shy about letting their flavour shine, so I wouldn’t recommend this recipe to someone who doesn’t like them. The consistency was more like a mousse than a frozen yogurt, but overall it was a satisfying, easy-to-make, low-fat treat.

I used this recipe as a foundation and made some of my own modifications. I highly recommend adding the maple syrup!

2 frozen bananas

1 cup non-fat Greek yogurt

3-4 Tbsp all-natural peanut butter

2 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp. real maple syup

Put all ingredients in a blender or food processor and mix until combined.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate, Peanut Butter & Banana “Frozen Yogurt”

Leave a Reply

