Help! TwitPinStagramBook is Ruining My Life

Ahhhhh! She’s gone Pinsane!

That’s it. I’m going on a social media diet. I’m doing a Facebook cleanse and a Twitter detox. I’m requesting a Pin-tervention and checking myself into Over-Instgrammers Annonymous.

Social media is destroying my attention span–and, quite possibly, my entire freaking life. Constantly checking status updates on a slew of social networking sites from my computer, phone and/or tablet prevents me from living in the moment.

I spend most of my workday on social media sites, searching for story ideas, connecting with others in the industry and broadcasting blog posts through our various channels. I also manage to keep up to date on what folks are doing, seeing, buying and eating throughout the day.

And then when I get home, I log on to Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest, despite the fact that I’ve already spent a decent chunk of my day mentally absorbed in these virtual spaces. I mindlessly scroll through my Friends’ updates in my Newsfeed, halfheartedly digest the latest tweets and re-pin crafty decor ideas I already know I will never try at home.

Imagine what I could have accomplished in the countless hours I’ve devoted to liking, pinning, favouriting, following, unfollowing, tweeting, commenting, hastagging and creeping on various social media sites. Huge things! I could’ve accomplished huge, gargantuan-sized things, guys.

I’m not condemning social media; I actually really love it. I have seen how these platforms work as incredible marketing tools and I enjoy connecting with people in this medium. But after spending a day jumping from site to site, I feel depleted from information overload. My brain is exhausted after spending hours trying to calculate whether a link is worthy of my investment (translation: a click), and deciphering what information is pertinent and that which is utterly banal.

Of course, the irony is that I am only adding to that sound and fury every time I update my status with a hot-off-the-press link to Love Write Now or 2 For Couples Weddings. I guess this further illustrates how dependent upon this technology we (I) have become and the complex relationships we’ve created with it. I can’t quit it entirely–just as a food dieter cannot stop eating–but I have to stop my compulsive consumption.

So I will try life with Social Media Lite, the aspartame-free alternative to the full-fat version of my recent binging. It will be tough to limit my daily screen time, but I think I can get through it…with a little help from my (Facebook) friends, of course.

2 thoughts on “Help! TwitPinStagramBook is Ruining My Life

  1. At least when you are with someone in person, you give your attention to them and are not on a social device while with them (expect for when they go to the lieu). At least you actually meet people in person as opposed to always writing them via social networks. Yes, I can actually touch your skin, oh my she is not my cyber imagination! This person actually exists in flesh and talks. Who Knew!

Leave a Reply

