Help! Breastfeeding Has Turned Me Into A Baked Goods Addict

Let me start by stating that I’m very grateful that I can breastfeed my baby. I know that it doesn’t work for all mothers and babies for a variety of reasons, and I’m thankful that it has worked for me and my daughter. It’s been a wonderful bonding experience.

However, breastfeeding has turned me into a bottomless pit. I’m hungry all of the time. And of course I don’t crave kale and arugula. (Does anyone crave leafy greens?) I yearn for full-fat lattes and date squares. Salted chocolate chip cookies. Freshly-baked scones. Almond croissants. Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. Homemade blueberry pie with French vanilla ice cream. I want it all! Right now!

I indulge in these cravings on a semi-regular basis because, well, it takes a lot of energy to feed a human baby! And because sometimes I’m just too exhausted to muster the willpower not to. Sure, breastfeeding burns a lot of calories–I’ve read anywhere from 200 to 800 calories per day (the Internet can be so reliable)-but in my experience it’s not quite enough to balance out the extra energy I’m consuming. It’s maddening to juggle two constant, conflicting desires: to (a) eat fattening baked goods with abandon and (b) fit back into my pre-pregnancy jeans. Yes, I want to have my seven-layer chocolate cake and eat it, too. It’s an exhausting and frustrating mental battle, and when I get tired and frustrated, y’know what I wanna to do? EAT BAKED GOODS!!

And so I do… and I enjoy every last bite!

Since I’ve got sweets on the mind, I thought I’d share this recipe for Hello Dollies–one of my all-time favourite comfort foods. I know I say a lot of recipes are super easy to make, but this one is downright rudimentary. You don’t even have to stir the ingredients together! They might not be the prettiest treats on Pinterest, but who cares how they look when they taste so ridiculously delicious?

1/4 cup butter
1 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 cup flaked coconut
1 cup chocolate chips
1 cup pecans, chopped (optional)
1 can sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 325°F

Melt butter in 8″ x 8″ pan. Add graham cracker crumbs and press firmly into pan to create crust. Arrange remaining ingredients over crust in order given, without stirring or mixing. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool in pan before cutting into squares.

4 thoughts on “Help! Breastfeeding Has Turned Me Into A Baked Goods Addict

    • Hi Sasha, thanks for the comment! The great thing about these squares is they’re super quick to make, so they’re great if you have little ones at home 🙂 Love your blog by the way. Our house has been overtaken by baby gear–it’s insane! I think I’ll have to try your 20-minute clean-up strategy!

    • Hi Valarie! Some friends have commented that they have increased appetites and cravings for baked goods while breastfeeding, too. In my experience, breastfeeding doesn’t hurt, but I’ve heard it can be painful (cracked, bleeding nipples, etc–ouch!). I’m sure I’ll continue to crave baked goods once I’m done nursing… it’s pretty much been one giant, lifelong craving haha 😉

Leave a Reply

